The Silent Waters by: Brittainy Cherry



Our lives are a collection of moments. Some utterly painful and full of yesterday’s hurts. Some beautifully hopeful and full of tomorrow’s promises.

I’ve had many moments in my lifetime, moments that changed me, challenged me. Moments that scared me and engulfed me. However, the biggest ones—the most heartbreaking and breathtaking ones—all included him.

I was ten years old when I lost my voice. A piece of me was stolen away, and the only person who could truly hear my silence was Brooks Griffin. He was the light during my dark days, the promise of tomorrow, until tragedy found him. Tragedy that eventually drowned him in a sea of memories.

This is the story of a boy and girl who loved each other, but didn’t love themselves. A story of life and death. Of love and broken promises.

Of moments.

The Silent Waters is the third book in Brittainy Cherry’s Elements Series.  Being a fan of the first two, I was elated when I won an ARC of this one.

I read The Silent Waters in a weekend.  Not only is it a fast read, it is a story filled with emotion.  Tragedy strikes Maggie at a young age, forcing her to lose her voice.  The one person who is her anchor through it all is Brooks.

Upon finishing the book, I had to sit and reflect for a while.  This is one of those books that makes your heart beat faster and makes tears start to flow.  The author has a way of bringing you into the story, as though you are in the moment with Maggie and Brooks, experiencing all of their pain and happiness.  It tugs at your heartstrings and really makes you feel.  You will admire and sympathize with Maggie, and fall in love with Brooks.

The ending is somewhat predictable; however, that didn’t bother me.  I loved entering the lives of two people who discover what true love is, supporting each other through thick and thin, and all of the emotions that go along with it.  It’s also about family and the bond that can exist, even if it is a blended family.

I highly recommend The Silent Waters, as well as the other two books in the series.  As an added plus for me, her books take place in Wisconsin (my hometown).  Go and get lost in Maggie and Brooks.

* I received my electronic ARC copy from a contest I entered in exchange for a fair and honest review.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s