Review: The Forgotten Woman by Angela Marsons

forgotten-women

Two ordinary women. Two damaged lives. One friendship that would save them both
Kit Mason has lived a life of unimaginable pain. An ex-prostitute, she has fled the clutches of an abusive pimp and now finds herself living hand to mouth in a new city, without anyone to help her. 

Frances Thornton seems to be living the perfect life. A lawyer from a privileged background, her perfect façade hides the painful secrets that still haunt her. 

Brought together by their attempts to conquer their addictions in an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting, the two women strike up an unlikely friendship. 

But can they find strength in each other – or will the demons of their past catch up with them? 

A compelling, moving and ultimately uplifting novel about overcoming the very worst life can throw at you and starting over. The perfect read for fans of Jodi Picoult and Amanda Prowse. 

Previously published as My Name Is

Angela Marsons has become one of my new favorite authors.  I read great things about her Kim Stone series, but decided to try this book of hers fist to see if I’d like her.  Well, from the first chapter I was hooked.  I loved her writing!

I don’t want to give away any spoilers, so I’m not going to discuss any of the plot (the synopsis tells enough about it).  What I liked about the book was the character development.  A book can have a great storyline with twists and turns, but if you don’t care about the characters, it can become the worst book ever read.  I loved the unlikely friendship between Frances and Kit (the choice character names completely fit) and joining the journey of overcoming their past.  I was terrified right along with Kit, and felt unloved with Frances.

It is a fast read that I didn’t want to put down.  If you are looking for a book to read on a rainy weekend, this is the perfect choice.  Highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

