Review: The Killing Game by J.S. Carol @bookouture @JamesCarolBooks

the-killing-game-jpg

 

Title: The Killing Game 
Author: J.S. Carol 
Publisher: Bookouture
Pub. Date: 10/13/2016

Series: None 
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense

You don’t know him. But he knows everything about you. 

JJ Johnson has built herself up from nothing. She’s everyone’s favourite publicist because she knows everyone and she knows how to keep a secret. There’s no problem she can’t fix, no crisis she can’t handle. Until now.

When lunch with a top client turns into a fight for her life against a terrifying stranger, she quickly learns this is one situation she can’t talk her way out of.

This twisted individual knows everything about each of the diners, including her. He is armed, he is dangerous, and he wants to play a game. 

And soon, it becomes clear that he wants something more than money

As the body count rises, can JJ find a way to save the lives of those left around her? If she can’t, how far will she go to save herself.

My Review: 5/5

When I read a review of this book on another blog, I knew I had to read it right away.  I am so glad I did.  From the beginning it was so intense, I couldn’t tun the pages fast enough.

Imagine this, you sit down to have what you think is a normal afternoon lunch with colleagues only to have it interrupted by a mad man who has a bomb strapped to his middle.  What do you do?  You can panic and cry, remain strong, or be heroic and try and save the day.  But, you soon learn that the bomber is in complete control.  From ordering everyone to strip down to their underwear, to randomly killing people in the room, this is a lunch where all control is out the window.

I absolutely love stories like this.  I love the suspense and guessing game of what is going to happen next.  The author kept me guessing until the very end.  Every twist and turn (and there are plenty) took me by surprise.  His writing was intense and very detailed. I felt as though I was in that restaurant with Hollywood’s elite.

As I mentioned, I couldn’t tun the pages fast enough, but when it was over I felt satisfied and sad at the same time  Satisfied because the story had a clear wrap-up, but sad because I enjoyed it so much I wasn’t ready for it to be over.

I loved this book!

***A special thanks to Bookouture for providing a copy of the book to me in exchange for my unbiased opinion.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Killing Game by J.S. Carol @bookouture @JamesCarolBooks

Leave a Reply

