Review: Blame @nicoletrope @AllenAndUnwin @NetGalley

51o-05hs79l

Title: Blame 
Author: Nicole Trope
Publisher: Allen and Unwin
Pub. Date: 6/22/2016

Series: None
Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Family


‘I am here because they suspect me of something. I am here because I am a suspect. I know that, she knows that. Everyone knows that.’ Anna. ‘It wasn’t my fault. None of this is my fault!’ Caro.  Caro and Anna are best friends…they were best friends. Over a decade, Caro and Anna have bonded while raising their daughters, two little girls the same age but living two very different lives. The women have supported each other as they have shared the joys and trials of motherhood, but now everything has changed.There’s been a terrible car accident, an unimaginable tragedy that leaves both families devastated. Over two days, as Caro and Anna each detail their own versions of events, they are forced to reveal hidden truths and closely guarded secrets.The complicated lives of wives and mothers are laid bare as both women come to realize that even best friends don’t tell each other everything. And when hearts are broken, even best friends need someone to blame.A hard-hitting, provocative and gripping read from the queen of white-knuckle suspense and searing family drama.

Buy it here:  Amazon

My Rating: 5/5

When I finished reading this book, I immediately had to tell someone about it.  It is one of those books that you have to talk to someone right away, a perfect book for a bookclub.

A tragedy occurs.  Anna’s 11 year old daughter is killed when her best friend Caro hits her with her car.  The entire time I was reading, I kept trying to picture being in that situation.  What would I do?  I cannot even begin to imagine.  For Anna, not only is her only child dead, her best friend is the one that killed her.  For Caro, while driving to visit her best friend she is faced with a tragedy that will affect her life forever.

The story is told from Anna and Caro’s points of view when they are being interviewed by detectives to recall their sides of the story.  Both women take us back to the very beginning of their friendship.  We learn that they have daughters the same age.  Both women are married, and both are stay at home mothers.  However, there is one fact that makes a huge impact on the story…Anna’s daughter, Maya, has severe autism.  When I say severe, I mean SEVERE, from screaming for hours at a time to literally using violence when something doesn’t go her way (Anna has bruises to prove it).  Also, an interesting twist that adds to the mystery of what happened on that Saturday afternoon, is that Caro is a functioning alcoholic.

I don’t want to say too much about the plot because I don’t want to give anything away.  But I will say, as a mother this story had such a huge affect on me.  I kept thinking how I would deal with having a child that was disabled, or mentally challenged, to the degree that Maya was.  Anna points out frequently that no one understood what she was going through.  Everyone told her she was doing the best she could and you love your child no matter what.  As a mother, I can understand that, but what if the child is hateful towards you?  Honestly, after reading this book I just realized how BLESSED I am to have two beautiful, healthy girls.

While both women recount what happen leading up to the day of the accident, it is clear one of them is lying.  I had my suspicions, but the author kept throwing in twists that had me second-guessing myself.  Both characters have their flaws, but you can’t help but like them in spite of their shortcomings.  It was such an emotional, captivating read!  I literally stayed up until the wee hours of the morning finishing this one.

I loved this book, and am so glad I was given a copy through NetGalley.  I have discovered a new, very talented author in Nicole Trope. I can’t wait to read her other books!

***A very, very huge thank you to Netgalley & Allen and Unwin for a copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased, honest review.***

Leave a Reply

