Review: Between You and Me @LisaHallAuthor

51jpdzkanxl

Title: Between You and Me
Author: Lisa Hall
Pub. Date: 3/17/2016

Series: None
Genre: Psychological Thriller


They say every marriage has its secrets.
But no one sees what happens behind closed doors.
And sometimes those doors should never be opened…

Sal and Charlie are married. They love each other. But they aren’t happy. Sal cannot leave, no matter what Charlie does – no matter how much it hurts.

 

My Review:  5/5

This is going to be a short review as I don’t want to reveal anything, just in case you are one of the few who haven’t read this book.  I’m late in discovering this one.  I added it to my TBR list after reading The Suspense is Thrilling Me’s top books of 2016 post (read it here).

I knew going in that there was a twist at the end.  I’m still trying to decide if I liked knowing this or not.  I admit, I was looking for the twist the entire time, trying to figure it out.  Well, I had ZERO clue!  I was completely dumbfounded and in shock when I discovered what it was.  In fact, I now need to read the book all over again just to see if I can pick up on clues I obviously missed the first time around.  (After you read it and discover the twist, you’ll understand what I mean.)

The story itself was really good.  There are some trigger points, since it focuses around spousal abuse.  My heart went out to Sal!  This is a person who is trying to do all the right things…raise their daughter, and love their spouse.  The verbal abuse is so profound, they start to doubt their own self-worth.

I wouldn’t necessary categorize this as a psychological “thriller”.  While there is a huge twist, it’s more of an adult fiction book.  It is a very fast read, told by Sal and Charlie’s pov.  (Something I’ve learned about myself is I love stories told in this way.)  After reading the book, I was surprised to learn this is the author’s debut novel.  The writing was excellent!  I will be adding her to my watch list, and will be reading all future novels she writes!

9 thoughts on “Review: Between You and Me @LisaHallAuthor

  1. I’m umming and arring about reading this. Is it completely domestic suspense / family drama kind of stuff? I tend to not get on with those books very well, like The Loving Husband, but I’ve heard so many good things about this!

    Like

    1. I don’t want to give too much away, but it’s not only about domestic abuse. That is what the story wraps around, but it also focuses on Sal’s outings and friendship with their neighbor as well as drama with Charlie’s job. I highly recommend. Let me know if you do decide to read it, I’m curious what you think. I haven’t read The Loving Husband, so I can’t really compare.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

