Review: The River at Night @EricaFerencik

618xzynrw-l-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Title: The River at Night 
Author: Erica Ferencik
Pub. Date: 1/10/2017

Series: None
Genre: Women’s Fiction/Suspense 


Winifred Allen needs a vacation.

Stifled by a soul-crushing job, devastated by the death of her beloved brother, and lonely after the end of a fifteen-year marriage, Wini is feeling vulnerable. So when her three best friends insist on a high-octane getaway for their annual girls’ trip, she signs on, despite her misgivings.

What starts out as an invigorating hiking and rafting excursion in the remote Allagash Wilderness soon becomes an all-too-real nightmare: A freak accident leaves the women stranded, separating them from their raft and everything they need to survive. When night descends, a fire on the mountainside lures them to a ramshackle camp that appears to be their lifeline. But as Wini and her friends grasp the true intent of their supposed saviors, long buried secrets emerge and lifelong allegiances are put to the test. To survive, Wini must reach beyond the world she knows to harness an inner strength she never knew she possessed.

With intimately observed characters, visceral prose, and pacing as ruthless as the river itself, The River at Night is a dark exploration of creatures—both friend and foe—that you won’t soon forget.


My Review: 4/5

Four women (best friends) in their mid-30s go on an annual girls trip. This time, they decide to embark the treacherous rapids in Northern Maine. First of all, if any of my friends even suggested going on a trip where I’m in the middle of nowhere for a certain amount of time, I wouldn’t just say no, but Hell NO! Not only does going on a roaring rapids trip not appeal to me, but the thought of being that one with nature…uh, I’ll pass!

Well, the 4 friends start off their adventure and things start to go very wrong. Think of the movie Deliverance, but with women. From running into men with no teeth in a convenience store, with a freshly shot doe on their truck, to their every flamboyant instructor who tends to act as though he is the next Tarzan, you know it’s going to be quite a ride from the beginning.

I’m not giving away any of the adventures they encounter because it will take away from the suspense of the book. My heart raced at speed levels with every twist and turn.

The best thing I liked about the book was the strong friendship with these four women. Overcoming alcoholism, cancer, divorces, just to name a few things, they have been there for each other through thick and thin. This adventure of a lifetime puts their friendship and will to live to the test.

A very fast read, I highly recommend. Hold on tight, cause it’s a wild ride!

 

***Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a copy in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

3 thoughts on “Review: The River at Night @EricaFerencik

  1. My Poor TBR

    Kristin, you ride horses (you take pics with them at least) and seem the adventurous type 😉 I’m sure you could overcome the bugs, the latrine digging and the noises at night that are neither human nor animal for a chance to unplug, bond with your friends and sleep under a blanket of stars 🙂

    Great review by the way. This is already on my TBR and I’m looking forward to this adventure, and yours 🙂

    Like

    1. Well, I’m adventurous to a point. I like to explore nature, but then come back to a comfy bed at night. I do love horses though, and wish I had more opportunities to ride. The picture was taken on my short vacation last year to Montana, before riding her up the mountain. Absolutely breathtaking!

      Thank you! Let me know what you think of it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My Poor TBR

    I hear you. The last time I went white water rafting was May of 1999 and camping outdoors was November of the same year. Given the choice today, I might opt to sleep anywhere in an RV. I’ve never been to Montana, but from what I’ve seen online, it looks beautiful. I was actually considering a move there, but ended up choosing between Idaho and Wyoming and Idaho won (or lost-depending on how you look at it). I’d love to take up horse riding, but I find them intimidating. I’ve ridden before, but they were dude ranch horses that looked half-dead, poor things, and the trail was flat. So kudos to riding one up a mountain 🙂 You have my admiration and respect.

    I’ll definitely check in with you once I’ve read this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

