Review: Daisy in Chains @AuthorSJBolton

 

daisy

Title: Daisy in Chains
Author: Sharon Bolton
Pub. Date: 9/20/2016

Series: None
Genre: Suspense/Thriller

 

Amazon  |  Goodreads


He’s a serial killer. A murderer of young women, all killed in brutal attacks.

But despite Hamish Wolfe’s conviction, he’s always stuck to his story—he’s innocent and he’s been wrongly imprisoned. And now he wants someone to investigate and, more importantly, to write his story.

Maggie Rose is a notorious defense attorney and writer whose specialty is getting convictions overturned. At first, Maggie is reluctant to even acknowledge Hamish’s requests to meet, ignoring his letters. But this is a very charismatic and persuasive man, good-looking and intelligent.

Eventually even she can’t resist his lure…


My Review: 4.5/5

After reading stellar reviews on this this book from my fellow book bloggers (some even adding it to their ‘best of 2016 list’), I immediately added it to my ever growing TBR list.  I found it at my library (still love the feel of a library book in my hands!) and dove right in.

I was captivated from the very beginning.  Was Hamish really innocent?  Will Maggie fall into his trap and learn to trust him?  Was it even really a trap?  All of these questions kept circling in my brain the entire time I was reading.  I felt like I was putting a jigsaw puzzle together, trying to figure out what Hamish was hiding, and just who was Daisy???

I loved the character development in this book.  The author does a fabulous job of telling you just this much about each main person, but so careful about not revealing everything there is to know.  Everyone had a mysterious past and secrets that the author was so perfect in not revealing.

The only reason for my 4.5 review, and not a perfect 5 is because I was able to figure out some of the mystery.  I always find myself playing detective while reading, and I was successful in solving the case in this one.

I thoroughly enjoyed this fast paced mystery and highly recommend it.  Can you also solve the mystery..???

6 thoughts on “Review: Daisy in Chains @AuthorSJBolton

    1. Thank you! I definitely like her writing style and would love to read more of her books. Although I love figuring out the ‘mysteries’ I’m always disappointed that I saw the ending coming… 😦 But yeah, this was a great book!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Great review! This made my top reads of 2016 and while I had a small piece figured out I didn’t have most of it. I’m also disappointed if I can figure mysteries out. In my book Sharon Bolton can do no wrong!! If you haven’t read her Lacey Flint series you might also like those

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

