Release Blitz/Review: A Thousand Letters @imaquirkybird @GiveMeBooksBlog

 

Title: A Thousand Letters
Author: Staci Hart
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 9, 2017
Blurb

Sometimes your life is split by a single decision. 

I’ve spent every day of the last seven years regretting mine: he left, and I didn’t follow. A thousand letters went unanswered, my words like petals in the wind, spinning away into nothing, taking me with them. 

But now he’s back.

I barely recognize the man he’s become, but I can still see a glimmer of the boy who asked me to be his forever, the boy I walked away from when I was young and afraid. 

Maybe if he’d come home under better circumstances, he could speak to me without anger in his voice. Maybe if I’d said yes all those years ago, he’d look at me without the weight of rejection in his eyes. Maybe if things were different, we would have had a chance. 

One regretted decision sent him away. One painful journey bought him back to me. I only wish I could keep him.

*A contemporary romance inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion*


Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

 


Author Bio

Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life: a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can’t forget that. She’s also been a mom, with three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She’s been a wife, even though she’s certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She’s also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she’s been drinking whiskey. Her favorite word starts with f and ends with k.From roots in Houston, to a seven year stint in Southern California, Staci and her family ended up settling somewhere in between and equally north, in Denver. They are new enough that snow is still magical. When she’s not writing, she’s sleeping, cleaning, or designing graphics.

Author Links


My Review: 5/5

Oh wow, this book!  As I write this review, I am still recovering from the poetic words of Staci Hart.  My hands are shaking, tears are flowing and I am just in awe of her writing!  Seriously, this book drawn in from the first words.

Elliot and Wade fell in love at an early age.  Separated for seven years, he re-enters her life as his father is dying from cancer.  Elliot is best-friens with Wade’s sister, and his father is her mentor.  That being said, it is an emotional time for all of the family, Elliot included.

“I’d become an expert at compartmentalizing my feelings.  it was the only way Survived, by stacking up dusty boxes in my heart for every hurt, packing them away in the dar.  But times like these blew the dust off the tops, opening them up to free the old pain so they could do more harm in new ways.”

This book is so emotional, I don’t even know where to start.  There is the story of Rick (Wade’s father) as he lives his last days, sharing his dreams for his children.  Then, there is the story between Elliot and Wade, as they are reunited after all of these years and still having feelings as strong as they were seven years prior.  There’s also the minor story of Elliot’s family and how she struggles with being the ‘doormat’ that she longs to overcome.

I read this book in one night.  It is heart-wrenching, at times literally making my heart beat so fast, as though I was watching The Notebook again.

“He touched my hand and wiped away the past.  He wrapped his arms around me and pulled me back into his heart.  He whispered to me in the dark and gave me hope.”

This book reminded me of the emotions felt with the writings of two of my other favorite authors: Kandi Steiner and Brittainy Cherry.  When I read their names in the Dedication at the end, I just smiled.  I’ve now added another author to my list of favorites.

I cannot say enough about this book.  Such a wonderful, beautiful read!

2 thoughts on “Release Blitz/Review: A Thousand Letters @imaquirkybird @GiveMeBooksBlog

Leave a Reply

