#Review: Normal by: Graeme Cameron

 

51guxy5bjl

 

Title: Normal
Author:  Graeme Cameron
Pub. Date:  3/31/2015

Series: None
Genre: Psychological Suspense


He lives on your street, in a nice house with a tidy garden.

He shops at your local supermarket. He drives beside you on the highway, waving to let you into the lane ahead of him.

He also has an elaborate cage in a secret basement under his garage.

The food he’s carefully shopping for is to feed a young woman he’s holding there against her will—one in a string of many, unaware of the fate that awaits her.

This is how it’s been for a long time. It’s normal…and it works. Perfectly.

But this time it’s different…


My Review: 3/5

When I was in high school, I watched an interview with FBI profiler John Douglas.  I was instantly captivated.  I knew right then and there what I wanted to do with my life, become an FBI Profiler.  This was before the tv shows of Criminal Minds and The Profiler were in production.  This was even before Silence of the Lambs.  It was the idea of getting inside the head of serial killers, finding out what really makes them tick that fascinated me.  I entered college and realized I eventually wanted to have children.  After reading John Douglas’ book Mindhunter  (my autographed copy is one of my prized possessions), I realized having a career in the FBI, especially as a profiler, is nearly impossible if you also want to have a family.  So, I put my dream aside.  However, I still have a fascination and now just read everything I can about the subject.

Given the introduction above, you can see why this book appealed to me.  A story of a man who is your everyday next door neighbor, but holding women captive?  And, better yet, the story is told from his point of view?  YES!  I knew this book was for me!

However, when I started reading it, my expectations fell short.  The writing was difficult for me to follow.  A couple of times I found myself reading paragraphs two or three times just to understand what was being said.  At one point, I even considered putting the book down and adding it to my DNF pile.

I like discovering why a killer is the way he is: what motivates him?  What occurred in his past to shape his adulthood?  This book briefly touches on those questions when we are taken back to the killer’s past, but I really can’t tell you the answers.  The writing and story was unclear.  It was difficult to follow when he was talking about the past or the present.

There are a couple of twists and turns in the book that normally would get my heart pumping, but my pulse didn’t raise even once.

I can see this book being for someone else, but unfortunately it just wasn’t for me.  If you have read the book, I’d love to talk to you.  Maybe some of my questions can be answered.

The reason for my rating, is because of the subject matter and the attempt the author made tell the complete story from the killer’s POV

 

6 thoughts on “#Review: Normal by: Graeme Cameron

    1. I was so disappointed that it didn’t work, but that does happen. I think it did need some editing. I looked at the reviews on Goodreads after I wrote mine and it seems there are others who also felt this way. It’s good to know I wasn’t the only one!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh my goodness, I am a Criminal Minds junkie! Love that show so much and like you, I have always been fascinated by that kind of stuff. I would have loved to be a detective, but frankly when it all comes down to it, I would be a complete scardy cat lol. I also LOVE thrillers that are told in the killers POV, but I’m sorry to hear that this one didn’t work out for you! Books that are hard to follow are never fun, especially in a thriller type even though the blurb has it sounding so good! Great review though :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

