Review: Misled @CJSpammer

51kYcwmId8L

Title: Misled
Author:  C.J. Spammer 
Pub. Date: 2/14/2017

Series: None
Genre:  Women’s Fiction / Mental Health

Amazon


A chance encounter between Sara and her ex-boyfriend, Justin, whom she hasn’t seen in four years, sends her into an emotional tailspin.
As she struggles with her thoughts and emotions after seeing Justin, the reader is taken on a nostalgic rollercoaster ride back to when Sara – an eighteen year old art student working at a restaurant – first meets Justin.
In the past, we follow the beginning of their 4-year relationship, and its ultimate demise. Meanwhile, in the present, Sara must wrestle with long-kept secrets – secrets that have haunted her for years – and the guilt that accompanies them.
Although the story is often dark, touching on some serious issues, there are many lighter moments with sprinklings of humour and warmth.


My Review: 3/5

I was really looking forward to this book, as you all know my interest in mental health.  I’m so upset that it didn’t live up to the expectations that I had.

It started out great.  Sara runs into Justin after leaving him and their daughter four years earlier.  She is immediately drawn to him again, as though it was just yesterday that they saw each other.  The story unfolds from there, bringing us to the past and then back to the present.  We learn how they met and what transpired to bring them to today.

As I mentioned, the story is told from past and present perspectives.  I usually love stories that are told this way; however, this one didn’t flow as well as I would have liked.  In fact, it was so confusing at times that I found myself having to flip back to the beginning of the chapter to refresh my memory if it was the past or present.

There were other elements in the book I felt just didn’t work.  I don’t want to give them away, due to spoiler alerts, but different story lines were thrown in that left me scratching my head saying “huh?”.  It made the story more complicated and just didn’t make sense.  Another thing is I was hoping the book would have focused more on Sara being bipolar.  The surface was barely skimmed with the subject.

Besides the elements that didn’t work for me, the actual writing was very good.  It is a very short read, one that I finished in an afternoon.  And, there is a sequel which I will check out as I want to learn what happens between Justin and Sara.

*** Thank you to the author for a copy of the book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

