Her View/His View

This month is the start of my new featured post: Her View/His View.  I introduced my new idea about a month ago (you can read my post here).  To sum it up, every month my husband and I are going to read a book and then write our own thought on it…her view and his view.  The kicker is each month we are choosing a book from the other person’s genre, which is completely different from one another.

The first month’s pick is from one of my favorite genres: Suspense, crime thriller.  I decided to be a little nice and not choose one of my cheesy chick lit books for him to read.  😉  So, without further ado, the book I decided upon was…..See How They Run by: Tom Bale!!

see how

Because this is my blog, I’m going to go first.  (Haha, this is so much fun!!)

I gave this book 4/5 stars.  This book is suspenseful and so action packed!  It’s another one I can add to my list of staying up late to finish reading because I just had to know what was going to happen!  Harry and Alice are woken one night to intruders in their home.  They terrorize the couple as well as their baby, only to discover they have the wrong house.  The criminals are in search of a package that was supposedly delivered to their house, but it wasn’t…or was it?  After being threatened with their lives if they tell a soul, including the police, Harry and Alice take matters into their own hands (separately) and try to figure out the mystery behind it all.  With ‘help’ (I’m using that word very lightly) from ‘strangers’ (again, using it lightly) they start to uncover the horrific truth while trying to stay alive and safe.

The suspense is unreal and when the truth is finally revealed, I was completely in shock.  There are so many twists and turns, I found myself questioning everyone Harry or Alice came in contact with wondering if they were good, bad, or just plain evil as some of the characters were.  At times I did find the story a little confusing.  There were so many characters it was hard to keep up.  I found myself having to read pages over again just to make sure I understood what was going on. 

While I know of many reviewers who gave this book a perfect 5 review, I couldn’t bring myself to do it.  There are two sexual scenes that were very difficult to read. One of them might be one of the most disturbing scenes I’ve ever read, and I’ve read some pretty messed up stuff.  For those scenes, I had to knock my review down a star.  However, keep in mind, just because they bothered me doesn’t mean they will bother everyone.  The author’s writing was phenomenal and I highly recommend this book.

Now, onto my lovely spouse’s review.  This is written by me, but told by Chad.

Kristin, I don’t know why you picked this book for me to read.  I get that it is in your genre.  All I’m saying is I hope the picks in your genre get better than this book.  Let me explain.

When I read a book, I automatically think can this really happen?  The conclusion I came to while reading this one is NO, absolutely not!  First of all, if someone broke into our home and threatened you and our baby, you better believe the intruders wouldn’t be alive to escape.  However, let’s say they did, the first thing I would do would be to call the cops.  I woudn’t go to work the next day and leave you home alone.  If I didn’t already own a gun, I would buy one as soon as I could.  And, I wouldn’t stay in that same house.  Right from the beginning I found this book highly unbelievable.

The scenes felt rushed, there was too much information thrown in at one time, and there wasn’t any character development.  I gave this book an honest try, but I just couldn’t bring myself to finish it.

Because it is not in my normal genre that I read, I’m giving the author the benefit of the doubt and rating it 3/5.


Well, there you have it.  Obviously our thoughts differ greatly on this book.  I hope you enjoyed reading this post as much as we had writing it!  Stay tuned for next month when I read a book from Chad’s preferred genre: fantasy.

 


 

see how

How far would you go to save your family?

In the dead of night, new parents Alice and Harry French are plunged into their worst nightmare when they wake to find masked men in their bedroom. Men ruthless enough to threaten their baby daughter, Evie.

This is no burglary gone wrong.
The intruders know who they’re looking for – a man called Edward Renshaw.
And they are prepared to kill to get to him.

When the men leave empty handed, little do Alice and Harry realise that their nightmare is just beginning. Is it a case of mistaken identity? Who is Renshaw? And what is he hiding?

One thing is clear – they already know too much.

As Alice and Harry are separated in the run for their lives, there is no time to breathe in their fight to be reunited. And with their attackers closing in, there is only one choice:

STAY ALIVE. OR DON’T.

Terrifying, unputdownable and full of twists and turns, this stunning thriller will have you on the edge of your seat right to the very last page.

Amazon US  |  Amazon UK  |  Goodreads
15 thoughts on “Her View/His View

    1. It was so interesting to discuss it with him. I completely understood where he is coming from. Although I mentioned that he tends to read fantasy which contains witches and wizards, which are also unbelievable, so I didn’t understand. But he clarified saying those books aren’t meant to be real…they are based on fantasy, made up worlds. That’s why he enjoys them so much. Can’t wait for the next book!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love this! My husband and I have totally different tastes when it comes to books, he is more dystopian society and I’m crime and the likes. I can’t imagine I would be able to do this sort of thing with him but it is wonderful to see it from the perspective of someone who doesn’t read the genre! Keep ’em comin!

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness! What an awesome idea for a new feature. I absolutely love it. My husband is not a reader despite my best efforts 😦

    I have the same issues with crime fiction that your husband does. My degree is in criminal justice, so when I read crime fiction I often can’t stop myself from thinking “That would never happen!” or think to myself how unrealistic it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you!! It was so much fun! My degree is also in CJ (minor in Psych), but somehow I always get so wrapped up in a story that I overlook the unrealistic points. But, I do find myself liking psychological thrillers more than police procedurals…and maybe that’s why! 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh my goodness. I LOVE this feature so much, Kristin. So unique. Love it!
    Oh I’m so sorry but I kinda love your husband’s review more. It’s AWESOME! Haha..

    No, just joking, you both are awesome. Thanks for sharing, Kristin. Looking forward to the next. 😁👍🏻

    Like

Leave a Reply

