Review: Like Father Like Daughter @xtymorganbooks #review

like father

Title: Like Father Like Daughter
Author:  Christina Morgan
Pub. Date:  7/12/2016

Series: Flesh & Blood Trilogy (Book 1)
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense

Amazon  |  Goodreads


Libby Carter is pretty sure she didn’t kill her husband…

When Libby wakes up to find her husband Ryan murdered in bed next to her with no memory of how it happened, she can only assume the worst. Daughter of the infamous I-75 Strangler, Libby is afraid that becoming a serial killer is in her DNA. Is she truly capable of killing the man she loves?

The evidence against her keeps stacking up, and it’s enough for an arrest…

It’s no secret that Libby is the number one suspect, and when she makes bail, she knows she has no choice but to turn to the only man who can help clear her name. Her father. After visiting him in prison, she decides to take the investigation into her own hands. Libby finds an unsettling lead on Ryan’s murderer and learns her husband might not have been as innocent as she thought.

But every clue she uncovers leads to another dead end…

Libby must risk her life to discover the truth about her husband and his murder, but things become even more dangerous when she realizes someone is watching her every move. 


My Review: 4/5

We are introduced to Libby as she wakes up next to her husband who has been shot during the night.  She has his blood on her and as she looks at the man she loves, she has no idea who killed him.  Of course, the police point their finger at the first person they think of: Libby.

The though of this is absolutely terrifying!  I cannot even imagine waking up next to my husband only to have him dead.  And the worst part?  She cannot remember a thing.  She has a monstrous headache, and is at a complete loss as to what happened.

I really liked Libby.  Shortly after she finds her husband murdered, more facts come out.  Is Ryan the same person that she was married to?  I kept trying to put myself in her shoes.  Not only would I be horrified to know my husband was murdered, but then to learn that he lived a somewhat ‘double’ life I would have been devastated.  There were some actions Libby took to try to clear her name that I questioned.  But then again, what would I do???

This book was fast-paced and kept me guessing until the very end.  One thing I was a little disappointed with was I thought there would be more of her father in it.  The serial killer aspect is what intrigued me in the first place.  However, when I finished, I realized why he wasn’t as much of a presence….that is left for the sequel.  Of course, now I can’t wait to read it!

***Thank you so much to the author for a copy of her book.  All opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Review: Like Father Like Daughter @xtymorganbooks #review

Leave a Reply

