Blog Tour/Review: One to Watch @RachelAmphlett @emmamitchellfpr #review #giveaway

I am so excited to be part of the blog tour for One to Watch by the fabulous Rachel Amphlett!!

One to Watch Cover LARGE EBOOK2

Sophie Whittaker shared a terrifying secret. Hours later, she was dead.

Detective Kay Hunter and her colleagues are shocked by the vicious murder of a teenage girl at a private party in the Kentish countryside.

A tangled web of dark secrets is exposed as twisted motives point to a history of greed and corruption within the tight-knit community.

Confronted by a growing number of suspects and her own enemies who are waging a vendetta against her, Kay makes a shocking discovery that will make her question her trust in everyone she knows.

One to Watch is a gripping murder mystery thriller, and the third in the Detective Kay Hunter series:

  1. SCARED TO DEATH
  2. WILL TO LIVE
  3. ONE TO WATCH
  4. HELL TO PAY (out 2017)

My Review: 5/5

When I was given the opportunity to participate in the blog tour of One to Watch, I jumped at the chance.  I’d heard such amazing things about the Kay Hunter series.  Everything was true.  This book was amazing!

I will admit, One to Watch was my first Rachel Amphlett book; however, it will NOT be my last!  Because this was my first book in the Kay Hunter series, I was a little worried that I’d be lost.  The author does a great job of explaining past events so a new reader is not lost, and the old reader isn’t bored.

The character of Kay Hunter is one of my favorite characters I’ve encountered.  She is tough, as she is a detective, but she also has heart.  This shines throughout the book, and especially during the funeral of the victim, Sophie.  I loved her relationship with Adam, and want to learn more.  This is another reason why I’ll be going back and reading the first two books in this series.

The storyline was very interesting.  After Sophie is found murdered during her ‘purity pledge celebration’, family secrets are revealed.  There are a couple of ‘gasp’ moments, that had me shaking my head and guessing who committed the horrendous crime.  At the end, I was taken by complete surprise.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a great police procedural, and/or a great mystery.


Author bio: Rachel Amphlett is the bestselling author of the Dan Taylor espionage novels and the new Detective Kay Hunter series, as well as a number of standalone crime thrillers.

Originally from the UK and currently based in Brisbane, Australia, Rachel’s novels appeal to a worldwide audience, and have been compared to Robert Ludlum, Lee Child and Michael Crichton.

She is a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold, being sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint in 2014, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag in 2017.


Enter to win an eBook copy of One to Watch!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


One to Watch BT Banner

Leave a Reply

