Blog Tour: Hunting Angels @ConradJones @emmamitchellfpr #blogtour #interview

Blurb:

When an author is asked to help the police with the investigation into a double murder by identifying occult symbols, which had been carved into the victims, he is plunged into nightmare and forced to go on the run. Hunted by law and a powerful cult, he has to stay one step ahead to survive.

Amazon UK  |  Amazon US

Prologue

He looked to the only face that was familiar. His mouth was dry and his tongue felt furry as he spoke. “Hey, Janine, sorry I blanked out. Where are we?”

“My name is not Janine.”

“Jackie?”

“Some call me ‘she’, I like that.”

“Whatever your name is, what the fuck is going on?”

“You can call me Baphomet for now. Does that name ring any bells with you?” she replied calmly.

“It’s unusual but I don’t think I’ve heard it before.” Malcolm swallowed hard and his throat prickled. He had heard the name before and it caused the hairs on the back of his neck to stand on end. “Look I’m not in any fit state to think straight. Any chance of a drink? I’m parched.”

“You’ve heard the name before, Malcolm Baines. Now tell me what you were going to publish about us.” Her black skin glistened with perspiration, and in the dull light her eyes looked like circles of oil speckled with yellow jewels as the candles reflected in them. She neared him and put her hands either side of him on the arms of the chair. As she leant towards him her perfume smelt the same, but her breath smelled rancid. “What were you going to publish about us?”


About the Author:

Conrad is the author of seventeen novels, eight author guides and two biographies. He has three series:
The Detective Alec Ramsay Series; seven books Gritty Crime Thrillers
The Soft Target Series; Gritty Thrillers six books (Reacher Style)
The Hunting Angels Diaries; three books Horror Thrillers
You can find out more; http://www.conradjonesauthor.com | jonesconrad5@aol.com

I am Conrad Jones, a fifty-year-old author, originally from a sleepy green-belt called Tarbock Green, which is situated on the outskirts of Liverpool. I spent a number of years living in Holyhead, Anglesey, which I class as my home, before starting a career as a trainee manger with McDonalds Restaurants in 1989. I worked in management at McDonalds Restaurants Ltd from 1989-2002, working my way up to Business Consultant (area manager) working in the corporate and franchised departments.
On March 20th, 1993, I was managing the restaurant in Warrington`s Bridge St when two Irish Republican Army bombs exploded directly outside the store, resulting in the death of two young boys and many casualties. Along with hundreds of other people there that day I was deeply affected by the attack, which led to a long-term interest in the motivation and mind set of criminal gangs. I began to read anything crime related that I could get my hands on.
I link this experience with the desire to write books on the subject, which came much later on due to an unusual set of circumstances. Because of that experience my early novels follow the adventures of an elite counter terrorist unit, The Terrorist Task Force, and their enigmatic leader, John Tankersley, or `Tank` and they are the Soft Target Series, which have been described by a reviewer as ‘Reacher on steroids’; You can see them here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Target-Series-Length-Mystery-Thrillers-ebook/dp/B00JEN607Q

I had no intentions of writing until 2007, when I set off on an eleven-week tour of the USA. The Day before I boarded the plane, Madeleine McCann disappeared and all through the holiday I followed the American news reports which had little or no information about her. I didn’t realise it at the time, but the terrible kidnap would inspire my book, The Child Taker years later. During that trip, I received news that my house had been burgled and my work van and equipment were stolen. That summer was the year when York and Tewksbury were flooded by a deluge and insurance companies were swamped with claims. They informed me that they couldn’t do anything for weeks and that returning home would be a wasted journey. Rendered unemployed on a beach in Clearwater, Florida, I decided to begin my first book, Soft Target. I have never stopped writing since. I have recently completed my fifteenth novel, ‘Brick’, something that never would have happened but for that burglary and my experiences in Warrington.
The Child Taker was the 6th book in the Soft Target Series but it also became the first book in the Detective Alec Ramsay Series when I signed a three-book deal with London based publishers, Thames River Press. The series is now seven books long with an average of 4.8 stars from over 2000 reviews. The first two books are always free with over 1100 5-star reviews. You can see them here;

As far as my favourite series ever, it has to be James Herbert’s, The Rats trilogy. The first book did for me what school books couldn’t. It fascinated me, triggered my imagination and gave me the hunger to want to read more. I waited years for the second book, The Lair, and Domain, the third book to come out and they were amazing. Domain is one of the best books I have ever read. In later years, Lee Child, especially the early books, has kept me hypnotised on my sunbed on holiday as has Michael Connelly and his Harry Bosch Series.


Author Interview:

What process do you follow for your writing? Are you a planner or do you just let it flow? Straight to PC or pen and paper?

I use a PC. I sit down and it flows. I’m very lucky that way.

Do you attend writing/author focused conferences? Which is your favorite?

I like meet ups like the Facebook group TBC hold. As long as they are in a pub and no one does a reading. I can’t stand readings. I don’t know why, ha ha!

How many manuscripts do you have that you never submitted? Will you consider approaching your publisher with them now?

None. I have published them all so far luckily!

What one piece of advice do you wish you received before you started writing?

Get your work proofed by multiple sets of eyes. One set is never enough.

What one piece of intended good advice, wasn’t what it seemed?

Getting an agent and a publisher. I had a three book deal with a London based publisher. It was the worst thing that ever happened to me!

What is your favorite thing about the whole writing process?

Feedback from readers. There is no better feeling than when someone has enjoyed a book.

Was there a particular book that made you sit up and think ‘that’s it, I’m going to be an author too’?

No. it was pure fluke.

Who do you envisage as playing your characters if your book was ever turned into a movie?

Dolph Lungdren for Tank. Warren Brown for Alec Ramsay.

What do you consider is your greatest accomplishment?

Writing eighteen books. My dad would have been so proud. I wish he had seen them, maybe he has …


 

untitled

Leave a Reply

