Blog Tour: Reported Missing @Sarah_Wray @bookouture #Extract

Welcome to my stop for Sara Wray’s new novel: Reported Missing!  Read below about this amazing book, and then there is something special for you….an extract of Chapter 1 with just enough oopf to get your toes wet!  The 2nd part will be posted soon here: https://chocolatenwaffles.com/ .  Be sure to check it out!


Reported Missing Cover Image

Four months ago, Rebecca Pendle’s husband disappeared. So did 14-year-old Kayleigh Jackson.

Just a coincidence? Rebecca wants to believe so… But as the police start to draw parallels between Chris and Kayleigh, it’s getting harder for her to trust his innocence.

Faced with an angry town that believes Chris has abducted the teenager, Rebecca tries to discover the truth.

But what she finds shocks her more than she ever thought. How well does she really know the man she loves?

A completely gripping, suspenseful thriller, with a shocking twist. Fans of Louise Jensen, K.L Slater and and The Girl on the Train will be hooked until the very last page.

AMAZON UK  |  AMAZON US


sarah wray author pic

Sarah Wray is originally from Yorkshire but now lives in Newcastle-upon-Tyne where she works as a technology writer and editor. She won a Northern Writers’ Award (Arvon Award) in 2015 for an early version of her first novel.

FACEBOOK  |  TWITTER  |  WEBSITE


REPORTED MISSING by Sarah Wray

Chapter One- EXTRACT (Part 1)

Thursday, 5 November

I am suddenly awake and upright, groggy from the red wine and sleeping pill. It’s nothing, I tell myself. Just the wind.

I begin to relax, remembering that it’s Bonfire Night. It’s just fireworks in the distance. The banging and explosions must have woken me.

I start to relax again, then my whole body stiffens. There are voices outside, whispers, low murmurs –close to the caravan. I strain to hear.

The dread in my chest is like setting concrete. A click against the window, then another… stones.

Not again, please not again.

A thud against the side of the caravan, followed by another. Everything shakes, glasses rattling. They’re going to tip it over. I panic, run to the door and throw it open, a rush of cold air. It’s pitch-dark but I sense people scattering in what seems like all directions.

How many are there?

A hissing, then something screams past my ear. A loud crack to my right

and an explosion of light, a smell of burning. A firework. Panicked, I think of the gas bottles. But it whistles back into the sky and arcs away again.

My eyes have adjusted to the dark, and I stamp out the embers on the

damp grass, smoke catching in my throat. Something sharp whips across my cheek and stings. I raise my hand to my face and it’s wet, blood.

“That’s for your pervert husband and what he done to Kayleigh!’ a girl’s voice shouts. I can’t tell where she is or how close.

I turn to go back into the caravan, and another pebble smacks against the side of it, bouncing off. Someone is flicking a lighter on and off but I still can’t see who’s there.

They came to the house before I moved out, but how did they

find out I’m here?

“Where’s your husband?”  A voice from the other side.

“Where’s Kayleigh? Where’s he taken her?”

Rhythmic clapping, a football chant.

“Where’s your husband, where’s your husband, where’s your husband?”

“You must be too old for him, love. Heard he prefers them young”

Sniggers.

“Oi!”  The girl’s voice appears from around the side of the caravan.

Something lit is hurtling towards me. It hits the step just in front of my feet, a sharp bang, a ball of blue light. Speeding streams of coloured light fly past my face, leaving a blurred trail behind them……


Reported-Missing-Blog-Tour Graphic

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Reported Missing @Sarah_Wray @bookouture #Extract

  1. Pingback: Gone Without a Trace: Reported Missing by Sarah Wray @bookouture @Sarah_Wray #BlogTour – Chocolate'n'Waffles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s