Blog Tour: Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes by: Amy Miller @bookouture @AmyBratley1 #Tour #review

unnamed1

January, 1941: As Charlie Barton tiptoes silently out of the house one cold winter morning to go off and fight for his country, his wife Audrey is left to run the family bakery on her own.

Times are tougher than ever, but at the Barton Bakery in Bournemouth, Audrey is determined as always to serve the town with love, loaves and cakes, even as the town is reeling from the struggles of the Blitz. 

Audrey’s brother William has returned from battle with serious wounds. His fiancé Elsie is waiting for wedding bells, but William is a changed man, and will her hopes be in vain? 

Bakery helper Maggie has her heart set on dashing officer George. But will George still want to marry her when he discovers the truth about her family? 

And Lily, Audrey’s stepsister, is struggling to raise her illegitimate baby and facing judgement from many in the town. The man who broke her heart returns with an offer, and Lily faces a hard decision about where her future lies. 

When disaster strikes the bakery, Audrey fears that everything she has worked for may be ruined. With her shop threatened and her family in turmoil, can she fight to save everything she holds dear? 

Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes is a romantic and heart-warming tale of cakes and confetti, perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry, Nadine Dorries and Ellie Dean. 


unnamed2

Amy Miller lives in Dorset with her husband and two children. New to saga, she has previously written women’s fiction under a different name.
 
Amy is on Twitter @AmyBratley1

My Review:  5/5

This is the first book I’ve ready by Amy Miller, and it will not be my last.  I read this book without reading the prequel, and I wish I had read her first book of this series first.  Although it can be read as a standalone, I think it would have answered some questions.

The book takes place in WWII, where bombings are a frequent occurrence.  Audrey’s husband, Charlie has just left to fight against  the Germans, and she is left to manage their bakery.

I loved this book.  Audrey’s character is instantly likable and she is one of the strongest female characters I’ve ever had the pleasure to read about.  She is the glue that holds her family and neighborhood together.  Every morning, in the wee hours, she makes sure everyone has their freshly baked bread.  It is the one normal thing people can count on in the time of war.  She is unselfish and truly amazing.

The minor characters were also very well written and developed.  I loved taking a glimpse into William (Audrey’s brother, just returning from the war – injured), and watching him cope with the aftermath of fighting for his country.  I loved Mary, the sweet little refugee girl who Audrey is caring for as though she’s her own child.  Honestly, I loved all of the characters, minor or not.

This is a beautifully written book about continuing to live, even though there is a war going on around you.  It is optimistic and a wonderful read.

***Thank you so much to Bookouture for my copy of this book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.


unnamed

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s