#blogtour #review Cuckoo by: Sophie Draper @sophiedraper9 @AvonBooksUK

There’s a stranger in your home…

When her stepmother dies unexpectedly, Caro returns to her childhood home in Derbyshire. She hadn’t seen Elizabeth in years, but the remote farmhouse offers refuge from a bad relationship, and a chance to start again.

But going through Elizabeth’s belongings unearths memories Caro would rather stay buried. In particular, the story her stepmother would tell her, about two little girls and the terrible thing they do.

As heavy snow traps Caro in the village, where her neighbours stare and whisper, Caro is forced to question why Elizabeth hated her so much, and what she was hiding. But does she really want to uncover the truth?

A haunting and twisty story about the lies we tell those closest to us, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Cass Green.


Welcome to the first day of the Blog Tour for Cuckoo by Sophie Draper. I am so honored to be part of this tour! Below are the links where you can find the book. Then scroll down to read my review!

Goodreads. | Amazon UK


MY REVIEW:

This is the debut novel from Sophie Draper. After reading the book I seriously question that. How in the world can a book this brilliant be a debut?! Ms Draper has written an excellent book. If this is a glimpse into what she can write, then I cannot wait to read her next book!!

Cuckoo is not the typical psychological thriller. There are elements of horror, romance, and oh so much mystery. From the beginning there is an eerie atmosphere that kept me guessing.

The main character, Cato, has returned to the home where she grew up after her step-mother suddenly dies. As she starts to unravel the mysteries of her childhood she begins to question everything…and everyone.

This is a gripping and terrifying book that will keep you on the edge of your seat. When I finally figured out what happened I was in complete shock. As I’m writing this, I’m still in shock and trying to wrap my brain around what I just read. Not many books leave me feeling this way. I think this book isn’t leaving my mind for a long time.

If you are looking for a different kind of mystery, one that will keep you guessing until the very end you need to pick this one up. You will not be disappointed!!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s