#Review Brake Failure @alisonbrodie2

My last blog post of the year is for a book that I put on the back burner for way too long. The author of Brake Failure (Alison Brodie) sent me a copy of her book in early 2017. Yes, it took me that long to set aside my other reading responsibilities and immerse in her book. I am kicking myself over and over again for putting it off!! If you haven’t read Brake Failure yet, I strongly urge you to do so ASAP!


“Is it too late to tell him you love him when you are looking down the barrel of his gun?”

An English debutante transforms from Miss-Perfectly-Correct to criminally insane as she breaks the bonds of her rigid upbringing. Sheriff Hank Gephart tries to reel her in – but she’s out of control and she’s not hitting the brakes.

What happened to the genteel lady in twin-set and pearls? And why did she shoot Mr Right?

Brake Failure is set in 1999 in the months leading up to Y2K “meltdown” when the US government was spending $150 billion preparing for Armageddon, As Lionel Shriver says in her novel, We Have To Talk About Kevin: “1999, a year widely mooted beforehand as the end of the world.”

Goodreads | Amazon US | Amazon UK


My Review:

Oh my! I am kicking myself so hard for not diving into this book sooner! Brake Failure is not just a rom com, it’s a combination of rom com, mystery, women’s lit, and a little bit of history all wrapped up into one glorious story.

Ruby is a slight hypochondriac, newly married woman to Edward, and moving to Kansas from the UK. While the book started out relatively slow, as soon as the move across seas occurs the pace begins to pick up. All her life, Ruby has been an extreme conservative, making her husband dinner from scratch every night, never drinking alcohol, and never uttering a curse word. When she starts to make a plethora of friends her confidence rises and she starts to bloom into the woman she’s always wanted to become.

The book goes from present to past, explaining Ruby’s story. In the present there is a search for her as she is a suspect in a bank robbery. Soon, her full story is revealed.

Ruby is a breath of fresh air! She is comical and loving, but also so lost and naive. I loved her from the beginning. The supporting characters are just as likable….Hank the cop, Edward her husband, Molly her best friend, and even the dog Rowdy. Brake failure is a fast and very enjoyable read. It is so refreshingly different and exactly what I was looking for. Two thumbs up!!

***A very special thank you to the author for a copy of the book. I apologize for taking so long to read it. My opinion is my own.

3 thoughts on “#Review Brake Failure @alisonbrodie2

  1. Thank you Kristin for your wonderful review of Brake Failure. I am so happy you enjoyed it. Your words have given me a terrific “high” in the last few hurs – sorry I mean “hours” (i’m not drink, honest, not yet anyway!) – hours of 2018. Have a great 2019. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: #Review Brake Failure @alisonbrodie2 – alison brodie books

Leave a comment